View all facilities

Mid-Lothian Mines Park

Subfacility of Historic Landmarks

Documents

Mid-Lothian Coal Mines Park Layout (PDF)

Other Link Mid-Lothian Mines Website

Features

  1. Interpretive Signage
  2. Trails

About Mid-Lothian Mines Park


This 44-acre preserve tells the story of the earliest coal mining in America from 1701, when coal was first discovered, to the mid-1730s, when it began commercial production. The first commercially mined coal in America came from Midlothian, where it was discovered near the French Huguenot settlement on the James River around 1701.  Coal from the mines here was used to fire the furnaces at Tredegar Iron Works in Richmond. Tredegar was the main supplier of artillery and iron for the Confederacy. 

The park features walking trails with interpretive signs, the only surviving mining structure in the Richmond coal basin, and just south of the park are the earthen remains and stone culvert of the first railroad. Guided tours are scheduled throughout the year where visitors can learn about the pioneer coal industry, the first commercial coal mine operation in North America and the impact of coal mining had on the region.


See the Park Layout (PDF)


Park Amenities


  • Interpretive Signage
  • Walking Trails (0.9 mile)

Additional Information