News Flash

County News

Posted on: January 7, 2021

Chesterfield County Board of Supervisors Elect Chair, Vice Chair

Chesterfield County Board of Supervisors 

Jan. 7, 2021

CHESTERFIELD COUNTY, VA — James “Jim” Holland, the Dale District supervisor and the longest tenured member of the Chesterfield County Board of Supervisors, will lead the board in 2021.

At its Jan. 6 organizational meeting, a majority of board members voted to return Holland to the chair’s seat, a post he held in 2014 when he made history as the county’s first Black chair. Holland, who has represented the Dale District since 2007, also served as vice chair in 2010.

With the vote, Holland immediately assumed the responsibilities of the outgoing chair, Midlothian District Supervisor Leslie Haley, who served as chair in 2019 and 2020.

A majority of board members also voted to elect Clover Hill District Supervisor Christopher M. Winslow as vice chair. Winslow has represented the Clover Hill District since 2017.

The Board of Supervisors chair is responsible for overseeing its meetings and public hearings, along with communicating board directives to the county administrator and other staff. The vice chair supports the chair and oversees board meetings and public hearings in the chair’s absence.  

The Chesterfield County Board of Supervisors has five members who each serve four-year terms. Each represents a magisterial district that, when combined, form the largest county in Central Virginia with more than 350,000 residents.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in County News