News Flash

County News

Posted on: March 10, 2020

Chesterfield Students Awarded Scholarships at Black History Month Business Breakfast

All six winners of the 2020 Chesterfield County Leadership for the 21st Century Scholarship

Communications and Media

March 10, 2020

CHESTERFIELD COUNTY, VA — Today, Chesterfield County, Chesterfield County Public Schools and Virginia State University honored six high school seniors with Leadership for the 21st Century Scholarships at the annual Black History Month Business Breakfast and Scholarship Recognition. The event was rescheduled from its original date, Feb. 21, due to inclement weather, and was held at the VSU Gateway Dining and Event Center.

This year’s scholarship essay asked Chesterfield County high school seniors to examine the national Black History Month theme “African Americans and the Vote” and the struggle for voting rights today. Six winners were awarded $2,500 scholarships, with one winner selected from each of the county’s five magisterial districts and the sixth chosen from one of the regional governor schools.

2020 Chesterfield County Leadership for the 21st Century Scholarship Winners

  • Taiwo Adepoju, Meadowbrook High School
  • Austin Ray Booth, Clover Hill High School
  • Daniel J. Faulkner, Matoaca High School
  • Alexandra Murias Roman, Midlothian High School
  • Moserah Nkosi, Maggie Walker Governor’s School
  • Nyota Patel, Thomas Dale High School

For 31 years, Chesterfield County has celebrated Black History Month with a variety of programs that explore the rich, diverse heritage of African Americans and their contributions to our community and nation. This is the 23rd year the Leadership for the 21St Century Scholarships have been awarded.

Clovia Lawrence, an award-winning broadcast journalist known as “Community Clo,” served as the Business Breakfast’s mistress of ceremonies. The Honorable Pamela O’Berry, presiding judge, 12th Judicial District of Virginia, Chesterfield County General District Court, delivered the keynote speech.

Pictured: The 2020 Chesterfield County Leadership for the 21st Century Scholarship winners. From left: Nyota Patel, Austin Ray Booth, Daniel J. Faulkner, Alexandra Murias Roman, Taiwo Adepoju, Moserah Nkosi

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in County News