Records, Permits and Hiring Off-Duty Officers
Obtaining Police Records
Effective July 1, 2021, Chesterfield County Police Department will charge for responding to Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests. Charges are based on the lowest possible hourly rate for an employee qualified to complete the work. An estimate will be provided to the requestor prior to the department's response. In accordance with the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, Va. Code § 2.2-3704(H), when it is determined that charges for producing the requested records are likely to exceed $200, the requester will be required to pay a deposit of half with the balance due upon delivery of the response. Understanding that there are instances in which the time and resources expended to collect and process a payment may exceed the value of a payment received, a cost threshold of $20 has been set, and costs below that amount are waived. Charges for victims of crimes will be waived.
Virginia law is quite specific about who may obtain copies of certain police records, accident reports, record checks, fingerprinting services and photographs. If you are eligible to receive such reports under VA Code 2.2-3706, they are normally available from the Chesterfield County Police Records Section. View the Chesterfield County Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests for more information.
For more information, please contact Police records requests by email.
Copies of motor vehicle accident reports completed by a police officer at the time of an accident may be requested from the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles or the Chesterfield County Police Department. You can request an accident report from Chesterfield County Police by mail, email or in person. Reports are normally available approximately five business days after the accident.
The following people are authorized to receive a copy of an accident report:
- Attorney or investigator representing an involved party
- Driver(s) of the vehicle(s) involved
- Parent or guardian of a minor involved in the accident
- Person(s) injured as a result of the accident
- Person(s) listed with property damage
- Registered owner(s) of the vehicle(s) involved (with proper identification and vehicle registration)
- Representative of an insurance carrier covering an involved party
Criminal History Record Checks
An individual may request a check of their Chesterfield County Police record by appearing in person at the Records Section during business hours. This record check covers Chesterfield County only and can only be released to the person requesting the record check.
You must be 18 years of age or older and have a valid photo ID. Reports are normally available within three to five business days
If you are under 18 years of age, you should contact the Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court Service Section by calling 804-748-1379. Your record check must be picked up within 10 business days by appointment following notification that it is ready. If you are unable to pick up your record check within 10 business days, it will be destroyed and you must begin the process again and pay another processing fee.
Fees and Payments
This service requires a $10 processing fee, payale by cash or check. This fee must be paid to the Records Section at the time of request.
For questions about making a record check request from out of state or from other jurisdictions, call 804-748-1260. If a state record check is needed, contact the Virginia State Police at 804-674-2000.
The Records Section will provide limited fingerprinting services under certain conditions. The individual requesting these services must have two valid forms of identification, at least one of which must include a photo.
Valid Forms of Identification
Acceptable photo identification includes:
- Current DMV-issued photo identification card
- Military identification card
- U.S. passport
- Valid state-issued driver's license
You may use one of the forms of identification listed, plus one of the following:
- Birth certificate
- Current immigration naturalization card
- Social security card
- Vehicle registration/title
- Voter registration card
Fees and Payment
The fingerprinting processing fee is $10 for the first card and $5 for each additional card. This fee must be paid by cash or check at the Records Section prior to fingerprinting.
Persons petitioning for a court-ordered expungement of their criminal record must have their fingerprints taken by the Records Section after they have filed their petition and received a copy of their charge and disposition.
Offense Verification Reports
Each report will include:
- Date the offense was reported
- Description of any stolen/damaged property and its disposition
- Location of the offense
- Officer assigned
- Police department's file number
- Type of offense
Fees and Payment
There is a $10 processing fee, payable by cash or check, for each offense verification report at the Records Section.
Under certain circumstances, victims of domestic violence may be entitled to a copy of the offense report free of charge.
Photographs of accidents may be requested by the party or parties involved in the accident by contacting the Records Section by phone at 804-748-1260 or by appearing in person. All photographs must be picked up, as we do not mail them.
Fees and Payments
There is normally a fee associated with each request, which varies based on the size and printing quality of the photograph(s).
Alarm System Permits and False Alarms
The following information is provided for general information regarding the county's alarm ordinance as specified in county code Chapter 15, Article I. Alarm Systems.
An alarm system is any assembly of equipment or a device designed to protect premises by detecting and signaling occurrences such as attempted burglary, robbery, unauthorized intrusion, or other criminal activity or hazard and is used to attract the attention and response of county police, including alarm bells, horns, siren and lights, which are either audible or visible beyond the lot lines of the protected premises. This does not include vehicle alarm or fire alarm systems.
A false alarm is any communication generated by an alarm system that results in a response by police personnel and after an investigation reveals no evidence or indication of criminal activity or other hazard.
- False alarms include: alarm signals that are activated negligently or accidentally, actual cause is not determined, purposely activated to summon the police in non-emergency situations, or as a result of faulty, malfunctioning or improperly installed or maintained equipment.
- False alarms do not include: alarm signals activated by weather conditions or other causes which are identified and determined by the Chief of Police to be beyond the control of the owner.
Alarm System Permit Requirements
Alarm system permits are required within 30 days of the installation date. A $25 charge may be assessed to any owner or tenant who fails to meet the permit requirements and, if assessed, charges must be paid before required permit will be issued.
If the permit required is not obtained within 30 days after being notified by the Chief of Police that it is required and continued operation of the alarm system occurs by the owner or tenant, it shall amount to a class 4 misdemeanor carrying a penalty of up to $250.
Updating Permit Information
Automated Dialing Device
It is unlawful for any automated dialing device or system to call, or in any other manner make direct contact, with the county's enhanced 911 emergency telephone system.
All automated dialing services will be required to connect to an emergency seven-digit number designated by the county. A violation of this section shall constitute a class 1 misdemeanor which is punishable by fine or imprisonment set forth by state law.
False Alarm Charges
There are no charges for the first two false alarms within a calendar year. The following charges will be applicable for the third and subsequent alarms:
- Third false alarm ($50)
- Fourth false alarm ($75)
- Fifth false alarm ($100)
- Sixth false alarm and each thereafter within a calendar year ($125)
Failure to Respond
A $100 service charge will be assessed if owner, tenant or designee fails to arrive at the premises within one hour of being notified by the Police to respond regarding an alarm activation.
Failure to Silence
A $100 service charge will be assessed if owner, tenant or designee fails to silence an audible signal, which is loud enough to be heard by any person outside the property, within 30 minutes of being notified by the Police to respond.
To pay police false alarm charges online, log in to your account through the Chesterfield County alarm portal.
You can also mail a check, made out to Treasurer, Chesterfield County, to:
Chesterfield County Alarm Ordinance Permit and Payment System
P.O. Box 76537
Baltimore, MD 21275-6537
For questions about false alarm charges and payments, call 855-694-8279 during normal business hours.
Alarm System Permit Revocations and Reinstatements
Failure to pay any service charges within 30 days shall constitute grounds for overturning an alarm system permit by the Chief of Police. A late payment penalty of 10% or $10, whichever is greater, will be added to the account upon referral to the county debt collection division.
Interest on the principal amount due and penalty will accrue at the rate of 10% annually from the first day of the month following the day the account is referred to the debt collection division. Continued operation after revocation will constitute a class 4 misdemeanor carrying a penalty of up to $250.
To reinstate a revoked alarm permit a full payment of all owed must be made.
Log in to your account through the Chesterfield County alarm portal and submit an appeal electronically within 10 days of receiving the notice. You may upload supporting documents as needed.
A letter to the Alarm Administrator must be submitted within 10 days of receiving the service fee bill. Send to:
Chesterfield County Alarm Ordinance Permit and Payment System
P.O. Box 76537
Baltimore, MD 21275-6537
This letter must contain the following:
- Telephone number
- The reasons for disputing the fee
- Any other written evidence which might justify a change in the assessment
The Alarm Administrator will consider the evidence and render a written decision within 10 days of receipt of the appeal request, unless an extension has been agreed upon by both parties.
The Alarm Administrator can waive, rescind in whole or in part, a service fee if they believe there is insufficient evidence to fully support the imposition of said service fee.
Regulated permits include permits that require applications for Police approval. Permit applications are accepted by appointment only.
For an appointment, please call 804-748-1547. Please be aware it may take up to 45 days to complete the process. The CPD Regulatory Compliance Officer can be reached by calling 804-717-6230 if you need assistance.
Regulated Permit Documents
- Adult Business Permit (PDF)
- Fortune Teller Permit (PDF)
- Nightclub Permit (PDF)
- Nightclub Permit FAQ (PDF)
- Parade Procession Race Permit Application (PDF)
- Parade Procession Race Request Instructions (PDF)
- Precious Metal Dealers Permit (PDF)
- Precious Metal Dealers Permit FAQ (PDF)
- Solicitor Approved Names and Permit Expiration Dates (PDF)
- Solicitor Permit (PDF)
- Solicitor Permit FAQ (PDF)
- Vehicle - Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity Taxi Cab Permit (PDF)
- Vehicle - Operate a For Hire Vehicle (PDF)
Hiring Off-Duty Officers
The Chesterfield County Police Department offers a variety of options for businesses and organizations seeking to hire off-duty officers for one-time events or continuous assignments. The department offers three types of contractual off-duty employment, which vary in cost.
Off-Duty Employment General Guidelines
- Employees may work a maximum of 30 hours of off-duty regular or extra-duty employment per calendar week. The calendar week begins at 0001 hours on Saturday and ends at 2400 hours on Friday.
- Personnel will not be allowed to work more than 17 hours on any day.
- Work hours for off-duty employment must not conflict or interfere with the police employee’s regular work schedule or performance of duty.
- A police officer engaged in off-duty employment is subject to call-out in case of emergency, and is expected to leave the off-duty or extra employment in such situations.
- When a police officer is engaged in off-duty employment and a situation arises that requires police action, the officer is expected to take the same action they would if they were in an on-duty status.
- Officers are expected to respond to all serious calls in the area when working off-duty.
- Permission for a police employee to engage in outside employment may be revoked when it is determined not to be in the best interests of the department.
- Employers are required to keep records as to the dates, times and specific officers who worked.
- These records shall be housed no less than three years and shall be made available to the Chesterfield County Police Department upon request.
- Officers are expected to be paid a three-hour minimum.
- The police department reserves the right to set a minimum number of officers working at any one event.
- The police department is not obligated to furnish officers if they do not voluntarily sign up.
- Failure to comply with any general guidelines may result in the revocation of off-duty employment of officers.
Off-Duty Employment Contractual Options
Option 1 – County Contract
An officer hired in this capacity will be covered by all the county liability, insurance and compensation packages, as well as all taxes/FICA to be included. This coverage means that if the officer were to be injured or sued while working for the employer, the county would cover the officer. Basically, in this option, the officer is working for the county, but is on a specific assignment just for your company. The hourly rate under county contract can vary anywhere from $32/hour to $67/hour per officer. According to FLSA laws, we cannot discriminate as to what officers fill the jobs (in other words, we cannot pick newer officers because they have a lower overtime rate.). Currently, the average patrol officer overtime rates are at $45/hour. In this option, the employer will receive a bill (invoice) from the county’s accounting department on a monthly basis. This bill will be itemized for each officer's hourly rate and the number of hours the officer worked. There is usually a two-month delay in receiving the bill. Among the benefits of this option are that officers quickly fill requests, liability and taxes are not an issue and the employer only has to pay the bill when it's received. The downside is this can be the slightly more expensive option.
Option 2 – Employer Assumes Liability
An officer hired in this capacity will be covered by your company's compensation, insurance and liability packages. The employer will need to supply a letter on company letterhead stating that the officer will be covered by their insurance, compensation and liability packages. The employer must also supply a copy of the certificate of insurance. The employer will also be responsible for the officer’s taxes and such. The hourly rate starts at $30/hour. The employer can pay the officer more if they so choose. The employer will pay the officer by cash or check at the end of the shift, or may pay the officer through their company payroll process. The benefit of this option is the set rate for officer pay. The downside is that the employer is responsible for payment to the officer and his coverage.
Option 3 — Officer Assumes Liability
An officer hired in this capacity will be covered by their own insurances and is responsible for their own taxes. The hourly rate is $30/hour. The employer can pay the officer more if they so choose. The benefits of this option are the low hourly rate and that the employer makes a simple payment directly to the officer. The downside is that the Police department is not always able to find officers to fill these positions, since the officers have to provide their own coverage.