Central Virginia Transportation Authority


The purpose of the CVTA is to administer transportation funding generated through the imposition of an additional regional 0.7 percent of sales and use tax, and wholesale gas tax of 7.6 cents per gallon for gasoline and 7.7 cents per gallon for diesel fuel.  Funds received through the Authority are used to address transportation-related purposes that benefit localities in the Richmond Region: Town of Ashland, Charles City, Chesterfield, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, New Kent, Powhatan, and City of Richmond.  CVTA funds are allocated as follows: 35% retained by the Authority for regional projects, 15% to GRTC to provide transit services for the region and 50% distributed, proportionally, to each locality to address local transportation needs.


Dates, Locations, Agendas, Minutes


  • Number of Members: 16 members as outlined in the Code of Virginia, Section 33.2-3072 
  • Comments:  Decisions of the Authority based on weighted voting as defined in the Code of Virginia, Section 33.2-3705
  • Term of Service: Four-year term coincident with term of office


  • Kevin Carroll
    Term expires December 31, 2023
  • Chris Winslow (Designee)
    Term expires December 31, 2022