Chesterfield County Government

Chesterfield County provides complete local government services. It is divided into five magisterial districts (PDF), each of which is represented by one supervisor elected to serve four years. View the county organizational chart (PDF).

The Chesterfield County government complex (PDF) consists of many buildings, somewhat like a corporate complex or university campus. Addresses and maps to county facilities are available or call 804-748-1000 for additional assistance.

Virginia State Government

Richmond is the state capital and the home of the Virginia General Assembly, the oldest continuous representative legislature in the world. The assembly convenes in the city for 45 and 60 day sessions alternating each year. The 60 day session stretches from January through mid-March during which time all state bills are introduced and voted on. The General Assembly consists of the Senate and the House of Delegates. Senators are elected every four years and delegates hold office for two years. Legislative information may be obtained by calling 804-748-1486. Visit the Virginia state government website.