- Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court
- Adult Criminal Cases
Adult Criminal Cases
J&DR Courts have jurisdiction of adult matters such as misdemeanor domestic assault and battery, misdemeanors committed by adults where the victim is a minor, and other misdemeanor crimes against family or household members.
The Code of Virginia defines family or household member as
- the person's spouse, whether or not he or she resides in the same home with the person
- the person's former spouse, whether or not he or she resides in the same home with the person
- the person's parents, stepparents, children, stepchildren, brothers, sisters, half-brothers, half-sisters, grandparents and grandchildren, regardless of whether such persons reside in the same home with the person
- the person's mother-in-law, father-in-law, sons-in-law, daughters-in-law, brothers-in-law and sisters-in-law who reside in the same home with the person
- any individual who has a child in common with the person, whether or not the person and that individual have been married or have resided together at any time
- any individual who cohabits or who, within the previous 12 months, cohabited with the person, and any children of either of them then residing in the same home with the person
No J&DR District Court has final jurisdiction of a felony.
- If an adult has been charged with a felony returnable to the J&DR District Court, the adult has a right to a preliminary hearing in the district court.
- At the preliminary hearing, the Court will determine if probable cause exists to certify the case to the grand jury.
- If probable cause does not exist, the case may be dismissed or nolle prosequi (not prosecuted).
- If an adult wishes to waive his/her right to a preliminary hearing, the matter will be certified to the grand jury.
The J&DR District Court does have final jurisdiction of misdemeanors involving family or household members, or child victims.
Arrest to Pretrial
- Once you have been arrested, you will be told when to appear at the J&DR District Court for your pretrial hearing (arraignment).
- Adult pretrial hearings for those not incarcerated are held at 9 a.m. daily.
- Adult pretrial hearings and bond motions for those who are incarcerated are held at 11:30 a.m. daily.
- We do not transport adults for pretrials or bond hearings; they are conducted via video with the jail or other correctional facility.
- The Chesterfield County Jail and Riverside Regional Jail house the majority of those awaiting trial in the Chesterfield J&DR District Court.
- Adults who have been charged with crimes before the J&DR Court may be referred to Pretrial Services pending trial.
Trial to Sentencing
- At trial, adults may be sentenced to up to 12 months in jail, ordered to pay fines up to $2,500, or placed on probation with Chesterfield Community Corrections.
- Misdemeanor sentences can be found in Virginia Code § 18.2-11.
First Offenders of Domestic Violence
- If you are charged with domestic assault and battery and sentenced under the first offender statute, you will have the opportunity to complete certain programs in order to have your case dismissed; however, you will still owe the court all applicable fines and costs.
You can Pay Court Costs Online!
As with all cases before the J&DR District Court, final orders may be appealed within 10 days.