Board of Supervisors

About the Chesterfield County Board of Supervisors

Chesterfield County is governed by a five-member Board of Supervisors elected by district. The Board of Supervisors appoints a county administrator who directs the county’s day-to-day operations. Dr. Joseph P. Casey has served as County Administrator since July 2016. For information regarding the duties of the Board of Supervisors, see the County Code of Ordinances.

View the Magisterial Districts Map (PDF).

Code of Virginia

The Code of Virginia states that the County Board of Supervisors shall have the power to:

  • Prepare and approve the county budget
  • Levy taxes and appropriate funds
  • Audit claims against the county
  • Issue warrants in settlement of all claims and accounts
  • Construct and maintain county buildings
  • Approve and enforce the county's comprehensive plan and land use control ordinances
  • Make and enforce ordinances for police, sanitation, health and environmental government as authorized by law
  • Provide for the care and treatment of indigent and physically handicapped county citizens


Kevin Carroll

Kevin Carroll
Matoaca District

Jim Ingle

Jim Ingle
Vice Chair
Bermuda District

Chris Winslow

Christopher Winslow
Clover Hill District

Large portrait of Dale District James Holland

James Holland
Dale District

Mark S. Miller, Ph.D., Midlothian Supervisor

Mark S. Miller, Ph.D.
Midlothian District