- Circuit Court
- Concealed Handgun Permits
Concealed Handgun Permits
Obtaining or Renewing a Concealed Handgun Permit
Applications are available in the Clerk’s Office and are also available on the Virginia State Police’s website. The application for renewal is the same as for first-time applicants.
- Applicants must apply in the city or county of their residence.
- Renewal applicants must include a copy of their existing permit (whether active or expired).
- Must include photocopy of valid photo ID issued by
- a governmental agency of the Commonwealth
- U.S Department of Defense or
- U.S State Department (passport)
- The Court requires proof of residency so if the photo ID presented does not list a Chesterfield address, other proof should be submitted (e.g., deed, lease, voter registration card, etc.).
- First-time applicants are required to provide proof of competency with a handgun. Online classes are not acceptable with applications received after January 1, 2021 as the law requires in-person attendance.
- Applicants should provide a self-addressed, stamped envelope for use in forwarding the permit.
- Applications may be submitted in person (between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., Monday-Friday, excluding holidays) or by mail to
Chesterfield Circuit Court
P.O. Box 125
Chesterfield, VA 23832
- Renewal applications should be submitted no sooner than 180 days prior to the expiration date of the current permit.
- For faster processing, applicants are encouraged to provide a self-addressed, stamped envelope for use in forwarding the permit.
- Within 45 days, the Clerk’s Office will mail the permit (or notice of denial) to the applicant in the self-addressed, stamped envelope provided by the applicant.
The processing fee is $30. Payment types accepted
For questions relating to the enforcement of the law governing concealed handgun permits, please contact the Virginia State Police at 804-674-2676.
Applicants are encouraged to provide a self-addressed, stamped envelope for use in forwarding the replacement, for faster processing.
Original documents are required and emailed forms cannot be accepted. Items may be presented in person or by mail, whichever the permit holder prefers.
Forms and Fees
Address Change - $10 Payment Types Accepted
- Address changes are processed by the issuing Court. Contact information for Virginia Circuit Courts
- Permit holder must present the Virginia State Police’s form SP-248A and
- if appearing in person, their driver’s license and existing permit for review
- if sending the form by mail, a copy of their driver's license and a copy of the existing permit
Lost/Destroyed Permit or Legal Name Change - $5 Payment Types Accepted