Court Closings, Inclement Weather, Holidays

Inclement Weather

The Courts render an essential service to the public; therefore, it is rare that the Courts close due to inclement weather.

Please note that media announcements regarding inclement weather closings/delayed openings for Chesterfield County government offices do not apply to the Courts or Clerk’s Offices. Therefore, in the event of inclement weather, the Court, not county administration, determines whether the Court(s) and the Clerk’s Office(s) will be closed.

Inclement weather closings/delays for Chesterfield Courts will be announced through various local media outlets and on Chesterfield.gov.

2020 Holiday Schedule

Subject to change - check back often.

January
New Year’s Day – January 1 (Wednesday)
Lee-Jackson Day - January 17 (Friday)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day - January 20 (Monday)

February
Presidents’ Day - February 17 (Monday)

May
Memorial Day - May 25 (Monday)

July
Independence Day - July 3 (Friday)

September
Labor Day - September 7 (Monday)

October
Columbus Day - October 12 (Monday)

November
Veterans Day - November 11 (Wednesday)
Day before Thanksgiving – November 25 (Wednesday) - All Courts closing at noon (Circuit Court Clerk’s recording hours: 8:00-11:00)
Thanksgiving Day - November 26 (Thursday)
Day After Thanksgiving - November 27 (Friday)

December
Christmas Eve – December 24 (Thursday)
Christmas Day - December 25 (Friday)