The Circuit Court accepts the following methods of payment:
- Credit Card (not accepted for expungement filings)
- Money order
For all payments, note the following requirements:
- Checks and money orders made payable to the Chesterfield Circuit Court Clerk.
- Individuals paying by personal check must present a government-issued photo ID.
- A $2 convenience fee will be assessed on all credit card transactions in accordance with Code of Virginia § 17.1-275 A (27).
- For in-person transactions, the cardholder must be present and have a valid government-issued photo ID.
- If the card is enabled with chip (ICC/EVM) technology, it will be processed using such technology. Card swipes for such cards are not acceptable.
- For payments made over the phone, the cardholder must contact the Clerk’s Office directly (or provide authorization for use).
Returned Check/Dishonored Payment Policy
If a check or credit card payment is returned or dishonored, you will be responsible for the transaction amount and you may be charged a fee of $50 or 10% of the amount of the transaction, whichever is greater, in accordance with Code of Virginia § 17.1-275 A (28).
Criminal Court Costs
When an individual is convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in the Circuit Court, court imposed fines, costs and/or restitution (e.g., court debt) will be assessed against the defendant.
Failure to Pay Promptly
An individual who does not promptly pay or enter into a payment plan agreement to pay court debt will be subject to the following:
- A judgment will be entered against the defendant if costs are not paid the same day.
- All judgments will be docketed against real estate, thereby creating a lien on the defendant's real property in the land records.
- The Clerk has no authority to release this lien/judgment based upon a request of the judgment debtor or another individual with an interest in the real estate.
- Interest will accrue on the balance due beginning 181 days after conviction or 181 days after release from incarceration imposed for the related charges.
- Unpaid balances are reported to the Virginia Department of Taxation for collection purposes and a 17% collection fee is assessed.
- Your employer may be contacted to garnish your wages until the debt is paid in full.
- After proper notice, any state tax refund and lottery proceeds due the defendant will be sent to the Clerk's Office to pay toward the debt.
Criminal Payment Instructions
Payments for criminal court debt may be made using the Virginia Judiciary Online Payment System, in person at the Circuit Court Clerk's Office, by phone or by mail.
- Checks and money orders should be made payable to Chesterfield Circuit Court and should include a phone number.
- Always indicate clearly to which account (case number and defendant name) payment is to be credited.
- If payment is mailed and a receipt is desired, please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Never send cash payments by mail.