Hover here for Site Tools
04-22-13 Police Department to Honor Volunteers
FacebookTwitterYouTubeMedia CenterRSS
Contact Us

Chief of Police
Jeffrey S. Katz

Phone Numbers
804-748-6265 Fax

Emergencies dial 911  

Mailing Address
Chesterfield County Police Department
P.O. Box 148
Chesterfield, VA 23832

Street Address
10001 Iron Bridge Road
Chesterfield, VA 23832
Map this 

Commendations or Concerns  

2013 News Releases

For Immediate Release

Police Department to Honor Volunteers

April 22, 2013

CHESTERFIELD COUNTY, VAThe Chesterfield County Police Department will present 76 individual volunteers with President's Volunteer Service Awards, a national honor offered in recognition of volunteer service, on Saturday, April 27. The awards will be presented at the Annual Volunteer Recognition Ceremony, which will begin at 11:30 a.m. at the Eanes-Pittman Public Safety Training Center, 6610 Public Safety Way.

Established in 2003, the President's Volunteer Service Award is available on an annual basis to individuals, groups and families who have met or exceeded requirements for volunteer service and have demonstrated exemplary citizenship through volunteering.

The Chesterfield County Police Department has a long history of volunteer service, and approximately 200 volunteers perform community service each year on behalf of the organization. Volunteer roles include Auxiliary officers, Motorist Assistants, Chaplains, Crime Solvers Board members, office volunteers and Animal Control volunteers.

“In his 2002 State of the Union Address, President George W. Bush created the USA Freedom Corps, and called on every American to make a lifelong commitment to volunteer service. The President's Volunteer Service Award recognizes individuals and families who have answered that call,” said Carole Maxwell, volunteer coordinator for the Chesterfield County Police Department.

“America’s volunteers work to make our communities stronger and safer. As a Certifying Organization for the award program, the Chesterfield County Police Department is proud to be aligned with this prestigious volunteer award, and we are especially proud of our volunteers who have made volunteer service a central part of their lives.”

The awards are issued by the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation, a group created by President Bush to recognize the valuable contributions volunteers are making to our nation. More information can be found at www.presidentialserviceawards.gov.

For more information about volunteering for the Chesterfield County Police Department, contact Maxwell at 804-318-8695 or maxwellc@chesterfield.gov.

The following volunteers will receive awards for hours volunteered in 2012:

President's Call to Service Award (4000+ hours over a lifetime) 
Thomas B. Hoekstra

Gold Award (Adults 500+ hours) 
Nancy P. Brown, Robert L. BeHage, Sallie J. Levander, William Anderson, Joan I. Cole, Denis E. Greaney, William Garrahan, Charles A. McCrory, G. Michael Laffoon, Baxter Sessums, Robert W. Parrish, Jesse Lee, Thomas B. Hoekstra and Matthew B. Comer.

Silver Award (Adults 250-499 hours) 
Clarence E. Steed, Michael P. Parker, Clara A. Thompson, Kenneth T. Roeber, Nathan D. Nillson, Cindy Wallo, William N. Bishop, Jeffrey S. Patton, Jerry Horton, Gregory H. Hopper, W. Ed Nicely, G. Thomas Fink, Carolyn A. Horton, R. Eric Luther, Frederick P. Woodlief, Sidney L. Wells, Joseph Ferreri, Jessica S. Younce, Kathy Feiring, Janet F. Bishop, Roland T. Brown, Patricia Moriarity, Matthew Burridge, Marc Chambers, Isabel Axelson, Brandon Skeens and Rick Mormando.

Silver Award (Young Adults 175-249 hours) 
Robert Wellman and Marilyn Davis.

Bronze Award (Adults 100-249 hours) 
Sylvia Crosby, Guy H. Bryant, Rick Hogsett, Randall Casciello, Leslie R. Ritchey, Weldon Hazlewood, Charles Feiring, Sandra Davis, David A. Watts, Georgia Smith, Marilyn S. Farmer, Larry O. Tingle, Robert J. Dienes, Perry W. Hornbarger, Marci L. Stables, Shane Mann, Howard Barnes, Max Inman and Ruth Jordan.

Bronze Award (Young Adults 100-174 hours) 
Mariah Lowe, Joseph Kearns, Derek Beal, Elijah Ghorley, Michael Lemaster, Angela Feiring, Carolyn Feiring, Donyale Holmes, Elizabeth Dupuis, Zachary Simpson, Elizabeth Decker, Zackary Smith, Timothy Younger and Joshua Dance.

Contact Person:  Lt. Jay Thornton
Contact Phone: 804-706-2557

Go Back
Related Content

02-13-09 Volunteers Needed For Ruff House Dog Park

09-23-14 Auxiliary Police Unit Seeks Recruits

10-25-12 Three Inducted into Senior Volunteer Hall of Fame

Administrative Volunteers Needed

Adult Volunteer Opportunities