Thanksgiving Holiday Closings... MORE

Hover here for Site Tools
General District Court - How and Where to Pay
General District Court
 
FacebookTwitterYouTubeMedia CenterRSS
Contact Us

Clerk
Ms. Linda J. Moore

Phone Numbers
(804) 748-1231
(804) 748-1757 Fax

Internet/E-mail/Fax Filing
Filings are accepted via mail, courier or hand delivery.

NOTE: Filings will not be accepted via the Internet, e-mail or fax.


General District Court Clerk's Office Hours
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday, excluding State holidays.


Mailing Address
P.O. Box 144
Chesterfield, VA. 23832

Street Address
9500 Courthouse Road
Chesterfield, VA. 23832 

Driving Directions  

 

 



Resources
Ready Virginia
Virginia.gov
USA.gov
Chesterfield County Public Schools
General District Court
General District Court - How and Where to Pay

To prepay on-line

You can use the link below and follow the instructions given on the Web site:

http://www.courts.state.va.us/caseinfo/tickets.html  

To prepay in person  

If you decide to prepay your traffic ticket in person, you may pay by

  • Cash
  • Visa
  • MasterCard
  • Check or money order made payable to Chesterfield County General District Court

You may prepay your ticket in person up to the day before your court date by 4:00 p.m. Bring your summons with you.

NOTE: There is a 4% fee for credit card payments.

To prepay by mail  

If you decide to prepay your traffic ticket by mail, you will need to send

  • traffic ticket (signed that you are waiving your court appearance)
  • check or money order made payable to the Chesterfield County General District Court
  • a self-addressed, stamped envelope with your payment, if you wish to be mailed a receipt.

You can prepay by mail up to eight (8) days before your court date.

NOTE: Your payment is effective only on the date received by the clerk's office, not the date you mailed it. You assume the risk in using the mail for delivery.

For a listing of prepayable traffic offenses go to www.courts.state.va.us.

Set up a payment plan for my fines and costs

Fines less than 40 days old

Payment plans may be set up at the Clerk’s Office.

Fines more than 40 days old

Payment arrangements may be set up with the Department of Taxation's Court Debt Collection Office.

Driver’s license reinstatement

Your license is suspended, and you are entering a payment plan to have it reinstated.

  • The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) automatically receives payment information within 48 hours (two days)

    • You do not need to come to the Court for a reinstatement (DC-30) form
    • You can go directly to any DMV in Virginia.

Chesterfield General District Court payment plan policy 

Virginia Courts payment plan policies are subject to change annually on July 1.

Related Content

About General District Court

Circuit Court Clerk - Grand Jury, Docket Call, Case Scheduling

Circuit Court Clerk - Judges and Filings

Circuit Court Clerk - Overview of the Virginia Court System