Hover here for Site Tools
Court Closings - Inclement Weather, Holidays
Circuit Court Clerk
 
FacebookTwitterYouTubeMedia CenterRSS
Contact Us

Clerk of Court - The Honorable Wendy S. Hughes

E-Mail Us  This email account is intended for general inquiries only. For specific case-related inquiries, please call the Clerk’s Office during public service hours to speak with a staff member in the appropriate division.

Filings
Filings are accepted via mail, courier or hand delivery.

NOTE: The Court does not accept case-related filings via the Internet, e-mail or fax.


Public Service Hours:
8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Monday through Friday

Recording Hours:
8 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Monday through Friday

NOTE: Recording hours are subject to change in the event of inclement weather or holiday closings. Filing parties are encouraged to call the Clerk's Office in advance to ascertain any deviation from normal recording hours.


Phone: (804) 748-1241

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 125
Chesterfield, VA 23832-0909

Street Address:
9500 Courthouse Road
Chesterfield, VA 23832

Driving Directions  

Location  - The Circuit Court Clerk's Office is on the first floor of the Courts Building located at the intersection of Ironbridge Road (Rt. 10) and Courthouse Road. The Courthouse is a large brick building with white columns and a circular drive.

Parking - Parking is permitted in any area except those that are gated, marked "reserved," or designated for jurors. There is no fee for parking.

 



Resources
Ready Virginia
Virginia.gov
USA.gov
Chesterfield County Public Schools
Circuit Court Clerk
Court Closings - Inclement Weather, Holidays

Inclement Weather

The Circuit Court renders an essential service to the public; therefore, it is rare that the Court closes due to inclement weather.

State law stipulates that the Circuit Court Clerk's Office may only be closed upon order of the Court. Therefore, in the event of inclement weather, the Court, not county administration, determines whether the Court and the Clerk's Office will be closed.

Please note that media announcements regarding inclement weather closings/delayed openings for Chesterfield County government offices do not apply to the Circuit Court or its Clerk's Office.

Inclement weather closings/delays for Chesterfield Courts will be announced through various local media outlets.


2017 Holiday Schedule

January
Lee-Jackson Day - January 13 (Friday)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day - January 16 (Monday)

February
Presidents' Day - February 20 (Monday)

May
Memorial Day - May 29 (Monday)

July
Day Before Independence Day - July 3 (Monday - closed pursuant to court order)
Independence Day - July 4 (Tuesday)

September
Labor Day - September 4 (Monday)

October
Columbus Day - October 9 (Monday)

November
Veterans Day - November 10 (Friday)
Day before Thanksgiving – November 22 (closing at noon per court order; recording hours 8:00-11:00)
Thanksgiving Day - November 23 (Thursday)
Day After Thanksgiving - November 24 (Friday)

December
Friday before Christmas – December 22 (closing at noon per court order; recording hours 8:00-11:00)
Christmas Day - December 25 (Monday)
Day After Christmas Day - December 26 (Tuesday)

2018 Holiday Schedule

January
New Year’s Day – January 1 (Monday)
Day after New Year’s Day – January 2 (Tuesday; closed per court order)
Lee-Jackson Day - January 12 (Friday)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day - January 15(Monday)

February
Presidents' Day - February 19 (Monday)

May
Memorial Day - May 28 (Monday)

July
Independence Day - July 4 (Wednesday)

September
Labor Day - September 3 (Monday)

October
Columbus Day - October 8 (Monday)

November
Veterans Day - November 12 (Monday)
Day before Thanksgiving – November 21 (Wednesday; closing at noon per court order; recording hours 8:00-11:00)
Thanksgiving Day - November 22 (Thursday)
Day After Thanksgiving - November 23 (Friday)

December
Christmas Eve – December 24 (Monday)
Christmas Day - December 25 (Tuesday)
New Year’s Eve – December 31 (Monday; closed per court order)

Related Content

08-31-04 Prepare Early For Inclement Weather

Court Closings - Inclement Weather, Holidays