Hover here for Site Tools
Concealed Handgun Permits
 
FacebookTwitterYouTubeMedia CenterRSS
Contact Us

Clerk of Court
The Honorable Wendy S. Hughes

Phone: (804) 748-1241

Email Uscircuitcourtclerk@chesterfield.gov
This email account is intended for general inquiries only. For specific case-related inquiries, please call the Clerk’s Office during public service hours to speak with a staff member in the appropriate division.


Filings
The Court does not accept case-related filings via the Internet, e-mail or fax.
Filings are accepted via mail, courier or hand delivery.

NOTE: The Court does not accept case-related filings via the Internet, e-mail or fax.

Public Service Hours
8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Monday through Friday

Recording Hours
8 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Monday through Friday

NOTE: Recording hours are subject to change in the event of inclement weather or holiday closings. Filing parties are encouraged to call the Clerk's Office in advance to ascertain any deviation from normal recording hours.

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 125
Chesterfield, VA 23832-0909

Street Address
9500 Courthouse Road
Chesterfield, VA 23832

Parking - Parking is permitted in any area except those that are gated, marked "reserved," or designated for jurors. There is no fee for parking.

 
Circuit Court Clerk
Concealed Handgun Permits

Important notice to persons convicted of misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence  

Applications are available in the Clerk's Office and are also available on the Virginia State Police’s website.

Obtaining a Permit

Requirements

  • Applicants must apply in the City or County of their residence (i.e., only Chesterfield residents may apply through the Chesterfield Circuit Court).
  • First-time applicants must appear in person and must present valid photo identification issued by
    • a governmental agency of the Commonwealth
    • U.S. Department of Defense or
    • U.S. State Department (passport)
  • First-time applicants are required to provide proof of competency with a handgun.
    • Individuals who hold a permit from another state and who wish to obtain a permit from this Court must provide proof of competency with a handgun as well.

Process

  • For faster processing, applicants are encouraged to provide a self-addressed, stamped envelope for use in forwarding the permit.
  • Processing can take up to 45 days.
  • The Clerk’s Office will mail the permit (or notice of denial) to the applicant.

Fees

The processing fee is $50

Payments

Payment types accepted  

For questions relating to the enforcement of the law governing concealed handgun permits, please contact the Virginia State Police at 804-674-2676.

Renewing a Permit

Requirements

  • Applicants who are renewing a concealed handgun permit must apply in the City or County of their residence.
  • Renewal applications must include photocopy of the applicant's valid photo identification issued by
    • a governmental agency of the Commonwealth
    • U.S. Department of Defense or
    • U.S. State Department (passport)
  • Renewal applications may be submitted in person or by mail to

Chesterfield Circuit Court
P.O. Box 125
Chesterfield, VA 23832

Process

  • Renewal applications should be submitted no sooner than 180 days prior to the expiration date of the current permit.
  • Applications are available and can be filed in the Clerk's Office 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
  • For faster processing, applicants are encouraged to provide a self-addressed, stamped envelope for use in forwarding the permit.
  • Within 45 days, the Clerk’s Office will mail the permit (or notice of denial) to the applicant in the self-addressed, stamped envelope provided by the applicant.

Fees

The processing fee is $50

Payments

Payment types accepted  

For questions relating to the enforcement of the law governing concealed handgun permits, please contact the Virginia State Police at 804-674-2676.

Replacement Permit

Process

Applicants are encouraged to provide a self-addressed, stamped envelope for use in forwarding the replacement, for faster processing.

Forms and Fees

Address Change - $10.00

  • Permit holder must present the valid permit and the Virginia State Police’s form SP-248A  

Lost/Destroyed Permit or Legal Name Change - $5.00

Payments

Payment Types Accepted  

Competency Requirements

Required

  • Completing any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries or a similar agency of another state.
  • Completing any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course.
  • Completing any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public, utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Department of Criminal Justice Services, offered by a
    • law-enforcement agency
    • junior college
    • college
    • private or public institution or organization
    • firearms training school
  • Completing any law-enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for
    • security guards
    • investigators
    • special deputies
    • any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement
  • Presenting evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm through participation in
    • organized shooting competition
    • current military service
    • proof of an honorable discharge from any branch of the armed services
  • Obtaining or previously having held a license to carry a firearm in this Commonwealth or a locality thereof, unless such license has been revoked for cause.
  • Completing any firearms training or safety course or class, conducted by a state-certified or National Rifle Association-certified firearms instructor, including an
    • electronic
    • video
    • online course
  • Completing any governmental police agency firearms training course and qualifying to carry a firearm in the course of normal police duties.
  • Completing any other firearms training which the court deems adequate.

Proof

  • A photocopy of a certificate of completion of any of the courses or classes;
  • An affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization, or group that conducted or taught such course or class attesting to the completion of the course or class by the applicant
  • A copy of any document which shows completion of the course or class or evidences participation in firearms competition must be provided.